Potomac News Online | Emergency Services: Eight police departments serve the people

Back to Discover Prince William

Eight police departments serve the towns, neighborhoods, businesses and highways of Prince William County, Manassas and Manassas Park. The Prince William County Sheriff’s Office also assists in some areas of law enforcement.


The Prince William County police department is the largest in the county with 483 officers.

Chief Charlie T. Deane has been with the force since its inception in 1970 and became the department’s second chief in 1988.

The police force includes the following units: criminal investigation, special problems, public information, K-9, motorcycle, patrol, bicycle, crime prevention, Special Tactics and Weapons Team and administrative. Other services include animal control, crossing guards and school resource officers.

County police operate from three offices: one at 9319 Mosby St. in Manassas, one in the McCoart Administration Center and at the Gar-Field substation in Woodbridge, which moved in December 1996 to a new, multi-million-dollar station across the street from the old facility on Donald Curtis Drive.

The Prince William County police non-emergency number is (703) 792-6500. To reach the headquarters in Manassas, call (703) 792-6515 and in Woodbridge call (703) 792-7200. Police Chief Charlie T. Deane’s office is at McCoart Administration Center, 1 County Complex Court.


The Prince William County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for court security, legal processes such as serving warrants and court summons, transporting prisoners, fugitive investigations and traffic enforcement.

Sheriff Glendell Hill took office in January of 2004. The Sheriff’s Office is at 9311 Lee Ave. in Manassas and can be reached at (703) 792-6070.


The Manassas Police Department has about 83 full-time sworn officers and two auxiliary police officers. They also have 28 full-time and four part-time employees. The department also has six animal control officers, one polygraph examiner, eight school crossing guards and one parking enforcement supervisor, among other positions. They also plan to add a full time motor officer in January of 2006.

The Manassas police non-emergency number is (703) 257-8000. The police chief is John J. Skinner, the fourth chief to run the department. He assumed his post on April 1, 1998. The office is at 9518 Fairview Ave.


The Manassas Park Police Department has 27 sworn officers, including the chief, three investigators and two school resource officer. One of the investigators works on a gang-task force while the other is part of a drug task force. There are seven dispatchers, one animal control officer and three crossing guards.

The Manassas Park police non-emergency number is (703) 361-1136. The chief of police is John Evans. The office is at 329 Manassas Drive. The department’s website is www.manassasparkpolice.com


Dumfries has a chief of police and 15 police officers and 18 auxiliary officers.

The force operates out of a building next to the Town Hall on Main Street and provides 24-hour coverage to the town. The department is open to visitors between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. County police assist Dumfries police as needed.

Dumfries police office is at 101 S. Main St., and the non-emergency number is (703) 221-1111.


Nine full-time officers make up the Haymarket force. The non-emergency number is (703) 753-2700. The town’s police department is headed by Chief James Roop.

Prince William officers are called if backup officers are needed. The office is at 6763 Leaberry Way. The police office is open if an officer is working at headquarters and not on a call.


Town Sergeant Ed Janick patrols the streets of the small town along the Occoquan River. The Occoquan police non-emergency number is (703) 491-1918, Ext. 19. Prince William officers are called if backup officers are needed. The office is in Town Hall, 314 Mill St.


The Quantico Police Department is run by Chief Gerald Tolson. Prince William County dispatchers send Quantico police to incidents. Prince William police officers are called if backup is needed at other parts in the county. The Quantico department relies on community-oriented policing and foot patrol. The Quantico non-emergency number is (703) 640-7500. The office is located at 405 Broadway St.


The Virginia State Police has an office at Independent Hill. State troopers patrol Interstates 66 and 95. The non-emergency number there is (703) 791-3101.

Back to Discover Prince William

Similar Posts