Potomac News Online | Law Enforcement Agencies

Eight police departments protect the towns, neighborhoods, businesses and highways of Prince William County, Manassas and Manassas Park. The Prince William County Sheriff’s Office also assists in some areas of law enforcement in the county.


The largest force is the Prince William County Police Department, which was founded in 1970 and includes about 400 sworn officers. The department is headed by Chief Charlie T. Deane, an original member of the force, who became the county’s second chief in 1988.

The police force includes the following units: criminal investigation, special problems, public information, K-9, motorcycle, patrol, bicycle, crime prevention, Special Tactics and Weapons Team and administrative. Other services include animal control, crossing guards and school resource officers.

For the last several years, county police have operated from three offices: one at 9319 Mosby St. in Manassas, one in the McCoart Administration Center, and at the Gar-Field substation in Woodbridge, which moved in December 1996 to a new, multi-million-dollar station across the street from the old facility on Donald Curtis Drive. The old station was demolished. The Prince William County police non-emergency number is (703) 792-6500. To reach the headquarters in Manassas, call (703) 792-6515 and in Woodbridge call (703) 792-7200. Police Chief Charlie T. Deane’s office is at McCoart Administration Center, 1 County Complex Court.


The Prince William County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for court security, legal processes such as serving warrants and court summons, transporting prisoners, fugitive investigations and traffic enforcement.

Sheriff E. Lee Stoffregen will face Republican challenger Col. Glendell Hill in the Nov. 4 general election. Hill is the administrator of the Prince William-Manassas regional jail. Stoffregen took office in 1996. The Sheriff’s Office is located at 9311 Lee Ave. in Manassas and can be reached at (703) 792-6070.


The Manassas Police Department consists of 123 total positions, including 80 full-time sworn officers. The department also has three animal control officers, one polygraph examiner, six auxiliary officers, eight school crossing guards, one parking enforcement supervisor, among other positions.

The Manassas police non-emergency number is (703) 257-8000. The police chief is John J. Skinner, the fourth chief to run the department. He assumed his post on April 1, 1998. The office is at 9518 Fairview Ave.


The Manassas Park Police Department has 23 sworn officers, including the chief, an investigator and a school resource officer. There are six dispatchers, one animal control officer and four crossing guards.

The Manassas Park police non-emergency number is (703) 361-1136. The chief of police is John Evans. The office is at 329 Manassas Drive.


Dumfries has a chief of police and 12 police officers.

The force operates out of a building next to the Town Hall on Main Street and provides 24-hour coverage to the town. The department is open to visitors between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. County police assist Dumfries police as needed.

Dumfries police office is at 101 S. Main St., and the non-emergency number is (703) 221-1111.


Four full-time officers now make up the Haymarket force. The non-emergency number is (703) 753-2700. The town’s police department is headed by Chief James Roop.

Prince William officers are called if backup officers are needed. The office is at 6763 Leaberry Way. The police office is open if an officer is working at headquarters and not on a call.


Town Sergeant Robert Chambers and one officer patrol the streets of the small town along the Occoquan River. The Occoquan police non-emergency number is (703) 491-1918, Ext. 19. Prince William officers are called if backup officers are needed. The office is in Town Hall, 314 Mill St.


The Quantico Police Department is run by Chief Gerald Polson. Officers are dispatched by Prince William County dispatchers. Prince William police officers are called if backup is needed. The Quantico department relies on community-oriented policing and foot patrol. The Quantico non-emergency number is (703) 640-7500. The office is located at 405 Broadway St.


The Virginia State Police has an office at Independent Hill. State troopers patrol Interstates 66 and 95. The non-emergency number there is (703) 791-3101

Similar Posts