Potomac News Online | Voting and Elections

Voters going to the polls for the Nov. 4 general election will decide its delegation to Richmond and leadership on the county supervisor board, school board and the sheriff’s office.

Residents who have never registered to vote or have recently changed addresses should check with their local registrar’s office to ensure that voter information is accurate and up to date.


At stake in the county supervisor races this year is the future of a five-vote pro-growth majority on the eight-person board.

Three supervisor seats do not have incumbents returning on election day in the Brentsville, Coles and Occoquan races.

In the Brentsville district, the winner will succeed pro-growth Republican L. Ben Thompson. Growth-friendly Republican W.S. “Wally” Covington is running against Democrat A. Pat Lightfoot.

In Coles, two smart-growth candidates face off: Democrat Victor D. Bras against Republican Martin E. “Marty” Nohe, who defeated pro-growth incumbent Mary K. Hill in a party primary.

In Occoquan, the field is all slow-growth candidates following in the footsteps of departing incumbent Republican Ruth T. Griggs: Independent Robert K. McBride, Democrat Keith A. Scarborough, and Republican Corey Stewart.

A major battle overarching the races is the feud between Supervisors Chairman Sean T. Connaughton, R-at-large, and Democrat Sheriff E. Lee Stoffregen. The scuffle is over how much the sheriff’s department can assist in community policing, the primary function of the county police department.

Hill’s support of Stoffregen played a part in her defeat to Nohe.

Connaughton – four years after defeating long-time incumbent Kathleen Seefeldt – faces Democrat Rick Coplen, who has the financial backing of Stoffregen.

Stoffregen, a two-term incumbent, faces Republican Glendell Hill, superintendent of the jail, for sheriff.

In the Dumfries race, Republican incumbent Maureen S. Caddigan faces Democrat Davon A. Gray. In the Gainesville race, incumbent Edgar S. Wilbourn, an independent after he left the Republican party this spring, faces Democrat Gary C. Friedman and Republican John T. Stirrup.

In Neabsco, Democrat incumbent John D. Jenkins faces Republican C. Scott Hirons and independent Keith K. Kessler. In Woodbridge, Democratic incumbent Hilda M. Barg faces Republican Ronald A. Robinson.

School board races are non-partisan. Board chairwoman Lucy Beauchamp is being challenged by Woodbridge school board representative Steven Keen.

The Brentsville race has Jean Gehlsen against Milton Johns. The Coles race has Stanley Bender, Marilyn Blakely and Michael Otaigbe.

The Dumfries race has six candidates: Betty Covington, Brenda Lawrence, Stephen McConnell, Sandy Melson, Maria Paslick and Tim Singstock.

Don Richardson is running unopposed for his Gainesville seat.

The Neabsco race has incumbent Julie Lucas against Jean Smith.

The Occoquan race has Shirley Couteau, Grant Lattin and Michael Zeiders.

The Woodbridge race has Roy Coffey, Denita Ramirez and Terry Stockholm.

In state office races, three incumbents are running unopposed: Delegate Harry J. Parrish, R-50th District, Delegate Michele B. McQuigg, R-51st District, and Delegate Robert G. Marshall, R-13th District.

In the 52nd House District, Republican Jeff M. Frederick faces Democrat Charles F. Taylor. Frederick defeated incumbent John A. “Jack” Rollison III in a June 10 primary.

Delegate L. Scott Lingamfelter, R-31st District, faces Democrat David G. Brinkley.

Sen. Charles J. Colgan, D-29th District, faces Republican David C. Mabie in November.

Sen. Linda T. “Toddy” Puller, D-36th District, faces Republican Christian N. Braunlich.

Sen. John H. Chichester, R-28th District, whose district includes the Town of Quantico, faces Democrat Becky Reed.

Sen. Jay O’Brien, R-40th District, faces Democrat Greg Galligan.


U.S. citizens, who are at least 18 years old on or before Nov. 4, live in Virginia and have never been convicted of a felony, are eligible to vote in the commonwealth on Election Day. Residents may register at any of the following locations:

? Prince William Registrar’s Office, 9252 Lee Ave., Manassas, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., (703) 792-6470

? Department of Motor Vehicles office, 2731 Caton Hill Road, Woodbridge, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and Saturday 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

? Manassas Registrar’s Office, 9025 Center St., Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., (703) 257-8230.

? Manassas Park Registrar’s Office, 1 Park Center Court, Office of the Registrar, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., (703) 335-8806.

? Registration applications are available at the McCoart Administration Center, 1 County Complex Court, off the county parkway, and the Sudley North Government Center, 7987 Ashton Ave., Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Applications can be picked up at other DMV offices, U.S. Post Office, any Prince William County public library; or the town halls in Dumfries, Quantico, Occoquan or Haymarket.

? Upon registration, residents will receive a voter registration card in the mail. Residents can register anywhere in the state, but each voter’s card will list the precinct and district in which he or she votes.

The deadline to register for the Nov. 4 election is Oct. 6.

Voters can cast an absentee ballot beginning Sept. 20 at the registrar’s office up until Nov. 1, or by mail by Oct. 30.

Similar Posts