GOP delegates run unopposed

Although much is up in the air with primaries today in nine contests, one thing is likely: Three Prince William House Republicans will not face challengers this year.

A 5 p.m. filing deadline looms today for independents or Democrats to nominate someone. As of Monday, three state delegates from Prince William did not have challengers: Robert G. Marshall, R-13th District; Michele B. McQuigg, R-51st District; and Harry J. Parrish, R-50th District.

Prince William Democratic Committee Chairman George Delimba said they will not put up candidates against the three Republicans. Two years ago, Parrish was the only incumbent to run unopposed.

For the winner of today’s Republican primary for the 52nd House seat between incumbent John A. “Jack” Rollison and Jeff M. Frederick, the next step will be to beat Triangle resident Charlie Taylor.

Taylor filed as the Democratic candidate last week, the same week Democrat David Brickley announced he would challenge L. Scott Lingamfelter, R-31st District. Brickley represented the 51st District for 22 years in the House until 1998.

“I think he’s going to be a formidable challenge to whomever wins on Tuesday,” said Kevin English, chairman of the Democrats’ 52nd District committee. Taylor is a life-long resident of Prince William, a county employee and active in the local Democratic party, he said.

Sen. Jay O’Brien, R-39th District, learned who his Democratic opponent will be late last month. Fairfax resident Greg Galligan won a May 31 firehouse primary against Rick Gonzalez by 204 votes to 47.

McQuigg said she is ready for anything.

“I will believe it when we get to Wednesday,” she said, out knocking on doors on Monday. “I’ve been around a long time. People the party doesn’t even know about pop up at the last moment.”

If McQuigg runs unopposed, it would be the first time in her 12 years of running for county supervisor or the House.